If you spend any time down the Jersey Shore, you've seen them pop up all over.

With the price of gas (and everything else) so high, many people have given up traditional motor vehicles, and have begun using low-speed vehicles to get around the shore.

Know the laws before you operate an LSV.  Not knowing the laws can result in high fines.

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is very specific about defining a Low-Speed Vehicle (LSV).

  • 4 wheels with an attainable speed of more than 20 mph, but no more than 25 mph on a paved surface
  • It must not be powered by gas or diesel fuel
  • Must comply with federal safety standards
  • Many LSVs are golf carts, however, not all golf carts are properly equipped to be considered street-legal.  See a full list of requirements HERE.

Read More:  Unveiling The Cost Of Shoplifting: Impact On Retailers In New Jersey (wfpg.com)

If you plan on using a low-speed vehicle in NJ, there are laws you must adhere to.

  •  They must be titled, registered, and insured in New Jersey
  •  They may not be driven on streets where the speed limit is higher than 25mph (in   rare cases, a local town may allow up to 35mph
  •  You must obey the same street signs as motor vehicles
  •  You must have a valid driver's license
  •  Child restraint seats must be used as you would in other vehicles
  •  You may lease or rent LSVs if they are properly titled and insured.
  •  LSV's are subject to the same violations as other vehicles, however you are not required to have an inspection sticker.
  • Do Not Drink and Drive and LSV.  It's unsafe and illegal.
  •  Municipalities in New Jersey have a right to restrict or prohibit the use of LSVs.

Find complete rules and regulations for LSV use at the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.

Best Dive Bars in New Jersey

Gallery Credit: Doug Buehler