Mammography is widely recognized as the “gold standard” in detecting breast cancer. Additionally, today’s mammograms expose the breast to much less radiation compared with those in the past and are more accurate. It’s recommended that women begin an annual mammogram at age 40. There are different types of mammograms.

Digital Mammography

Digital and conventional mammography both use x-rays to produce an image of the breast. In conventional mammography, the image is stored directly on film whereas, in digital mammography, an electronic image of the breast is stored as a computer file. This digital information can be enhanced, magnified, or manipulated for further evaluation.

Three-dimensional (3-D) Mammography

Also known as Tomosynthesis this is a type of digital mammography that produces a 3D image of the breast by using several low dose x-rays obtained at different angles. For tomosynthesis, the breast is positioned and compressed in the same way as for a mammogram, but the x-ray tube moves in a circular arc around the breast, and the information is sent to a computer, which produces a focused 3-D image of the breast. The 3-D images enable doctors to see inside the breast more clearly than with a standard 2-view mammogram. While 3-D mammograms expose the breasts to more radiation than standard mammograms, they remain within FDA-approved safe levels for radiation from mammograms.

To schedule your mammogram, visit

This post was brought to you by Barnabas Health:

To schedule your mammogram, visit


More From Beach Radio